Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Wind drag on body

Discussion in 'Ask The Pros' started by Pinewood Outlaw, Mar 1, 2019.

1. Pinewood Outlaw

Pinewood Outlaw District Champion

Which side of a car receives the most wind turbulence.....the top side or the bottom??

2. "The Fonze"

"The Fonze" District Champion Pro Racer

It all depends on which lane you are racing in and what cars you are racing with. You will always deal with front end air resistance this is why the fast cars are thin to win.

Ohly likes this.
  3. AceMontana

AceMontana District Champion Pro Racer

Im no pro but as i understand the question and from what research ive done on the topic its a "ying yang" thing...the bottom (between the track and car) has an area of compresion causing more drag with an identical shape on top....but the longer liner surface (the top) with its angled surface for a wedge or curved contour) has a higher drag than the flat bottom sooo its very tough to say without some kind of math i couldnt possibly comprehend

4. CFD Engineer

CFD Engineer Bent Axle

Can I interpret your question to: which has the most drag, instead of most turbulence?
    Of course it depends on the shape of the car, but the stock full width wheels are your largest source of air drag with a low profile car.

Digging out a very old simulation I did years back:
    Just considering the body, it looks like the bottom experiences more drag than the top, especially in the nose portion. This first car in the top image has a 0.25" thickness, and the front nose is pointed in the vertical center (symmetric top to bottom). Maybe a better design would be to have the point lower, but the difference will be very small.