Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Wheel Rules Interpretation

Discussion in 'Ask The Pros' started by xtremethings, Sep 23, 2020.

1. xtremethings

xtremethings Pinewood Ninja

I’m relatively new to this whole stock wheels thing and I was wondering if polishing the outer tread and inner edge of the wheel is going against what the following rules say?

I basically knocked any heavy flashing off our wheels with my fingernail and did the black ice treatment on the bores, hubs and tread areas. I don’t believe I went against the rules, but could that technically be classified as a modification? C5C41396-DDE4-40C2-83B9-86B24E71FE5E.jpeg

2. ljo

ljo District Champion

If you didn't lathe or sand them, I'd say you are fine.

3. xtremethings

That’s good to hear... I was just kind of concerned because the look so dang good.

42B2AE5C-578A-4F15-AE34-3BF858767917.jpeg 530A7206-343F-4B8C-9967-05B8CD1076D4.jpeg

ljo likes this.
  4. T-Bone Racing

T-Bone Racing Pinewood Ninja

I’m pretty sure you can polish them wherever. Just as long as you keep them off a lathe.

5. xtremethings

That’s encouraging info. I’m actually on the post-race inspection team and I just didn’t want it to cause any problems.

6. T-Bone Racing

Gotcha. I mean, it’s easy to tell if they’ve been lightened. It’s not often that someone cheats by using a lathe, but it does happen. If it’s just shiny, it’s probably just a well polished wheel.

7. xtremethings