Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Wheel & axle setup for 4-wheel-touching

Discussion in 'Wheels and Axles' started by firestone, Jul 5, 2019.

1. firestone

firestone Bent Axle

Anyone have an easy resource/diagram/specs for preferred wheel and axle setup for 4-wheel-touching races? On aluminum best track, BSA wheels and axles standard slot placement, filling and re-drilling in slots allowed, no bending axles, no wheel mods.

I'm pretty new to this level of building, so I'm trying to find something simple that can help me understand the logic of axle angles and such for this kind of race.

2. TRE

TRE PWD Royalty Pro Racer Pro Race Winner

Buy a plug and play block from john..its drilled and ready...unless you wann fool with trying to drill the right angles in both front wheels

3. firestone

firestone Bent Axle

Would that pass for races with rules about using the original axle slots? It looks like they're cut into the block afterwards.

And I'd prefer we could cut the block here. Kind of feel like we're cheating if my son doesn't even cut the block and it just shows up ready to go.

Last edited: Jul 6, 2019
  4. HurriCrane Racing

HurriCrane Racing PWD Royalty Pro Racer 25+ Pro Race Wins! National Champion

LOL! There is enough cheating in scout racing to make a NASCAR crew chief blush!

It really depends on how many cars you plan on building, how skilled you are and the quality of your tools.
    The plug and play would be the best option if you only plan on building a minimum amount of cars. It will also be your most economical option. This option also takes much of the guess work out of tuning the car if you don't have a track for testing.