Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Royal Rangers shaving ranger wheels

Discussion in 'Awana Grand Prix, Royal Rangers, and Royal Racers' started by kickaxe, Mar 13, 2015.

1. kickaxe

kickaxe Pinewood Ninja

Vitamin K asked me to share how I shave my razors.

Note:
    I do also shave scout wheels when I build cars to show my students the difference wheel mass makes at the finish line. For those who have not read my previous posts, I am an 8th grade physics teacher who uses pinewood derby cars accompanied by a technical journal as my students' final exam for my class. The kids each build a car and I help them discover the force, inertia, friction types (and reduction), velocity, acceleration, average speed, etc.

Back to shaving wheels without a lathe.......

Materials needed:
    [list type=decimal][*]Drill press set at low speed[*]Pro Wheel mandrel (I buy mine at Maximum-Velocity but most hobby shops have one) [​IMG] [*]2 small washers to use with the mandrel between the shaft and screw so it does not reshape or scratch the bore of the wheel.[*]wood rasp like this one [​IMG] [*]wire brush to clean the rasp[*]utility knife with a fresh blade[*]1000 grit sandpaper[*]plastic polish[*]leather or soft cloth to apply polish[/list type=decimal]
    Process for Ranger wheels

Ranger wheels are solid chunks of plastic, instead of the hollowed out ones. They are heavy, the hole can be off-center, they are molded from the edges, and most of them have flaws in the plastic. Here is a before and after:
    [​IMG]