Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Axles

Discussion in 'General Pinewood Derby Discussion' started by Jason Rossler, Sep 2, 2019.

1. Jason Rossler

Jason Rossler Hammering Axles

so im fairly new to pinewood. But I’m looking for the best axles that are able to be used for a BSA event. The rules do not necessarily say the SS axles are not allowed. It really just says metal axles but I don’t want to buy SS and fail inspection. Looking for straight oversized axles. Unless someone out there has a better route to go

2. Gso125 Racing

Gso125 Racing District Champion

Can you post what your rules say for axels

3. Jason Rossler

Now that I’m looking closer I may be screwed.

The ONLY axles allowed are those axles from Official Pinewood Derby Car Kits #17006 0r # 17000. Or Official Pinewood Derby Wheels and Axles #17553 thru #17557 (black and colored wheels). Burrs on the underside of the axle head and ridges on the axle shaft (if any) may be removed. If the underside of axle head is to be tapered, be careful not to reduce the diameter of the axle head. Polishing of the axle shaft is allowed. The mating surface of the axle may not be bushed, sleeved, or lined. Only a dry non-permanent spray- on, brushed-on, or dusted lubrication compound is allowed. Bushings, sleeves, permanent coatings, thrust washers, and enclosed axles (with hubcaps) are prohibited.

4. DerbyDad4Hire

DerbyDad4Hire Administrator Staff Member 25+ Pro Race Wins! National Champion

5. Jason Rossler